One of the two secured outputs for protecting documents and images within Vitrium is the WEB LINK (the other is the protected PDF file). When a document or image is uploaded into Vitrium, it gets converted to a secure, HTML5 file that can be shared via the web link you’ll see in your Content tab. When clicked on and unlocked, what your users see is Vitrium’s proprietary web viewer. Below is a description of all the various features in the web viewer.
6.1 Offline Access / Save to Browser
With Vitrium’s web viewer, you do have the ability to access the content offline.
IMPORTANT NOTE: In order to provide offline access for users, you need to ensure the DRM policy has a specific number of days set for ‘Offline Access’ such as 1 day or 7 days. If you set it to 0, the user will not be able to access the content offline and the ‘save to browser’ button will not appear in the web viewer.
- In the web viewer, click the 'Save to Browser' button at the top right-hand side of the page and you will see the content 'saving'.
- Bookmark or save the web link in your browser so you can retrieve it again when you're in offline mode or airplane mode.
- Once you're offline, you should be able to view and access your content.
- Later, when you no longer require viewing that content in offline mode, we recommend 'deleting' the content cache. You can do this by clicking on the delete button at the top right-hand side of the web viewer. This will effectively delete or remove the content taking up space in your browser's cache or memory.
Where is the content being saved? The content is actually being saved to your browser's cache or memory.
How many files can I save to the browser? This will largely depend on what browser you're using, what type of device you're using, and how much space you have remaining in your browser's cache or memory. We recommend checking your browser's memory to see how much space you have left. Then, you can check to see how large your content size is by clicking the Tools button in the web viewer and review the (MB) beside the "Save document..." line
Why does it take so long for large files to save? This is based on a number of different factors including the performance of the browser itself, the type of device you're using, and how large (in MB) the content is. As time goes on and browser performance improves, Vitrium's save to browser capabilities will improve also.
6.2 Highlighting & Notes
Vitrium’s web viewer allows users to HIGHLIGHT any part of the content including specific lines of text or freeform highlighting. It also provides the ability to add comments or notes to specific places in the content with the NOTES feature.
Marking up your content with Vitrium’s highlighting tool is very simple. Click on the Pencil icon in the left hand side of the web viewer toolbar and 4 options will appear:
|Read Mode – this is the default when you do not require highlighting anything|
|Draw Free Shape – this allows for free-form highlighting of your content and you can select any color from the pallet shown|
|Highlight Selected Text – this allows you highlight text in your content: a word, sentence or entire paragraph and you can select any color from the pallet shown|
|Delete Annotation – this option allows you to delete/erase any of the highlighting that you have done on your content|
Adding notes in your content with Vitrium’s web viewer is very simple. Click on the Notes icon in the left hand side of the web viewer toolbar and 3 options will appear:
|Read Mode – this is the default when you do not require adding notes|
|Create Mode – this allows you to add a note anywhere you want in the content: click this icon then click where you want to place your note on the page you’re viewing, then type in your note and click Save|
|Delete Annotation - this option allows you to delete/erase any of the notes that you have added|
Once all your notes are added, you can click on the Notes icon again and a list of all your notes will appear on the left hand side and you can click on any one of them to quickly jump to the note on that page. You can also hover over any note you’ve added in your content to view what the note says.
If your document has bookmarks in it, then these same bookmarks will also appear in the Vitrium secure web viewer. Bookmarks are a great feature that allows users to select what section of the document they want to review or read.
IMPORTANT NOTE: The original PDF document must already have bookmarks in it prior to being uploaded and protected with Vitrium Security.
Printing in Vitrium’s secure web viewer is usually quite straightforward but there are a few key points to be aware of. We recommend you review this entire section to understand how this print feature works and what situations you may encounter.
IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want your users to be able to print your content, you need to ensure you have Allow Printing checked in your Content Settings and those Content Settings are applied to the specific content.
- In the web viewer, click the Print icon that appears at the top right of the toolbar.
- A Print Options dialog box will appear. You can select All Pages, Current Page or a Page Range, and you also have the option to include Highlights. Click Next. This will then kick-start the 'processing of your printing'.
- The content is then processed into a high resolution format for printing purposes so that the images and text come out crystal clear. The web viewer format is low-resolution which is why this processing step is necessary. Here’s what you will see when the file is processing for printing:
- You will then see your web browser’s printing dialog box and you will need to click Print or Okay.
In 90% of cases, this will print your document just fine. In some cases, you may see the ‘Continue Print’ button which will appear for two different reasons:
- If your document is over 100 pages, you will see the ‘Continue Print’ button as the web browser’s memory cannot process the amount of data to convert the web viewer file into a high resolution format. If you click the ‘Continue Print’ button, the document will continue processing and print the next set of 100 pages.
- If your document has different page layouts or page sizes (i.e. portrait and landscape, or A4 and A5 pages), then each section of the document that has the same page layout or page size will print at a time and you will see a ‘Continue Print’ button that you will need to click to print the next set of pages. In some cases, if the file has been created in Adobe InDesign or Illustrator, these page sizes can sometimes differ by 1/10th of an inch or centimeter and even these slight variations can cause disruption in the web viewer print process. If you continually see the ‘Continue Print’ button and it's not obvious that your page sizes are different, check with your design team to see if there are different pages sizes in your content. You can also submit a ticket to our support team to look into this for you.
For Mac (Safari) users: We recommend using Google Chrome to print your document.
For Windows (IE) users: You will need to check your Page Setup before printing documents (see steps below). This is only required once.
Why do blank pages print out? If this issue occurs, you will need to check your browser's print settings and ensure that Page Headers and Footers are set to --blank-- before printing. Refer to the steps below for how to check these.
For Mac Users:
- When you get to step 4 in the printing steps (see above) and you see the Print dialog box, click Show Details and make sure that Page Headers and Page Footers are set to --blank-- and then you can print your document or image.
For IE Users:
- Click on the Settings icon at the top right-hand corner of your browser (or press Alt + x)
- Select Print, then Page setup…
- Ensure that the Headers and Footers are set to -Empty- and click OK
- Now you can go back and follow the 4 steps above to print your document or image.