This section is for adding, editing, or deleting groups, and for adding, editing, or removing users to and from groups.
3.1 Adding a Group
To add a group, click the button and enter all the relevant information you wish to add. Only the Name field is mandatory. All other fields are optional.
You may wish to add a DRM Policy at the Group level and if you do, click the DRM Policy tab for the Group and update the following fields. Be sure to review Section 5.4 DRM Policy Settings to learn more.
3.2 Understanding Column Functions
Once there are group/groups established in your User account, the Group List will automatically get generated for customization purposes.
EDITING a Group
Much like the ‘Added On’ column in the Content tab and Users tab, this is the same. It will show the date when the Group was created (added) in Vitrium. You can also sort data by this column.
Click the Users icon to view, add, edit or remove Users (or ‘Group Members’) from the selected Group.
On the left-hand side, you can select Users to add to the Group. On the right-hand side, you can view Users (or ‘Group Members’) that are in the Group. You can also remove Users from this Group by clicking the small ‘x’ beside the username.
Much like the ‘Active’ column in the Content tab and Users tab, the checkmark indicates that the Group is active and an ‘X’ indicates it is not active. To deactivate a Group, simply click the checkmark and all Users within that Group will no longer have access to any content that the Group had access to.
Clicking the Report icon will direct you to the ‘User Activity Log’ report showing you unlock and viewing activity for that specific Group. From there, you can also export the Group’s activity level for a specific time period.
3.3 Deleting Groups
You can delete a Group or multiple Groups by selecting them and clicking the DELETE GROUPS button.
You will then be prompted with a message confirming that you are okay to delete the selected users. If you are, click DELETE again.
Once the Group(s) are deleted from Vitrium, this will effectively revoke all access that any User had as part of this Group (if the Permissions were assigned to the Group) and you will not be able to get back the Groups’ information.
Delete or Deactivate?
If you do not wish to delete the Group entirely and lose all its information, you can choose to de-activate it instead by clicking the checkmark icon under the Active column and an ‘X’ will appear instead indicating that the Group has been de-activated. This will still revoke the Users’ access to any and all files they had access to as this Group but it will keep all the Group’s information in Vitrium.