Follow

What is the Global Object Security policy and what do I need to do when I see this message?

The Global Object Security (GOS) policy is a setting in Adobe Reader and Adobe Acrobat that controls how cookies in Adobe products behave. The default setting is to "enable global object security policy" which means that every time someone renames a file or moves a file to a different location, a different cookie is created each time. Since Vitrium's content security solution relies on these cookies to track the number of 'devices' that a user opens the secured content on, it is STRONGLY recommended that end users disable this feature. 

How to disable the Global Object Security Policy:

  1. In Adobe, go to Edit > Preferences
  2. Click the JavaScript tab
  3. De-select (uncheck) the "global object security policy" field
  4. Click OK

Users will only need to do this once for one computer. If they wish to open the protected PDF file on a 2nd computer (assuming they have permission to do so), then they will need to disable the GOS policy in Adobe on the other computer as well. 

Why do users need to disable the Global Object Security Policy in Adobe?

Because otherwise the user may exceed the limit that was set for them in their DRM policy and they will encounter the vc3 error message (You have exceeded your PDF or browser limit) even if they have only opened the file on the same computer.

By disabling Adobe's GOS policy, the user can then safely move the protected file from one folder to another, or rename the protected file to something else, but not reach their limit as the cookie is saved with the file on that same computer. 

Can I remove the Adobe global object security policy pop-up message?

Yes, you can remove this message but we only recommend this to Vitrium customers who DO NOT set a PDF limit in their DRM policy settings.

To remove the message: 

  1. In Vitrium, create a new Content Settings
  2. Click the Advanced Options tab
  3. Check "Set Acrobat cookie policy"
  4. For both Acrobat 10.0 and Acrobat 11.0+, select "No prompt and no close document" for both fields
  5. Ensure all your other Content Settings are created (i.e. no print, no copy, etc.)
  6. Click Save & Exit
  7. Then apply this new Content Setting to all files or only those files where you do not require a PDF limit for users

In Vitrium's APIs, this can be changed in the API call that uses this parameter:

AcroJsGosBehaviourType

 where

{

   PromptAndCloseDocument = 0,

   PromptOnly = 1,

   NoPromptAndNoClose = 2

}

Definition of each Acrobat GOS policy setting:

  • PromptAndCloseDocument - this will prompt the user if they don't have the global object security policy setting disabled and will close the document until they make this change. This is the default setting. 
  • PromptOnly - this will prompt the user if they don't have the global object security policy setting disabled but will not close the document. You then run the risk of the user reaching their PDF limit if they did not follow the instructions.
  • NoPromptAndNoClose - this will neither prompt the user nor close the document and is only recommended in scenarios where you DO NOT require setting a PDF limit for users. 

 

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Powered by Zendesk